California Driver Handbook update
An Animal Safety Warning is being included in the California Driver Handbook. Assemblymember Anthony Portantino (La Cañada Flintridge) and the Department of Motor Vehicles want people to remember that leaving a pet in a closed car is unsafe. They will be adding a warning to the California Driver Handbook and California will become the first state to add language about animal safety in its 2011 Driver Handbook. It will warn drivers that it is against the law to leave an animal in a vehicle in unsafe conditions. If the animal is injured or killed, the penalties are: up to $500 in fines, 6 months in jail or both.