Posted by: My Personal Vet | March 16, 2010

New Animal Laws being proposed

Dr. Sharp political?  Nah, let’s just say ready to debate extra taxes on pet food…..

The AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association) publishes updates about animal laws.  Zillions of pending bills – some I’ve backed or opposed.  I usually glance through them just to keep current.

This one caught my eye and I’ve been debating it mentally:

  • California SB 1277, Louisiana HB 201 and Rhode Island H 7768 propose creation of a first-of-its kind registry for persons convicted of animal abuse, to be made available to the public. The California program would be funded through a tax on pet food.

Now, I’ve adopted 4 abused dogs who were legally taken away from their “owners”.  FlyGirl was from a large puppy mill run by father and son.  Turned out they had convictions in 5 states.  FIVE.  Five? How can that be allowed?  Being sick people, they seriously affected hundreds of dogs over a very short period of time.   Short jail times with, apparently, no tracking.  They just kept state-hopping.

I’m all for this bill.  BUT who should pay.

  • I don’t want to pay for their jail time through my taxes.
  • As a responsible pet owner, I don’t want to pay with tax on my pet supplies.
  • I’m not going to donate in addition to the care I’ve given my rescues (who I adore!)

THEY should pay — from the money made selling the poor things.  Wouldn’t it be interesting to have them pay for the ads?  Ads that tell people how to look them up and avoid them?

There are certainly other laws mentioned to get your blood rushing — both in support and in anger, national and international.  Here’s where I got the information:   http://bit.ly/cZ3CPr

Dr. Evelyn Sharp, DVM


Leave a Reply

Categories

